Swimming with Jersey City Mayor Steven Fulop

Posted on 09/18/2013

0


Jersey City Mayor Steven Fulop and Bikas Joe Linton

Jersey City Mayor Steven Fulop and Bikas’ Joe Linton

I had the pleasure of meeting Jersey City’s mayor Steven Fulop yesterday. I was in the locker room at Pershing Field Pool. I overheard someone talking with Fulop – a young person who was excited that he was talking with someone famous. I was glad that the mayor was talking with the youth, and that the mayor was swimming at a Jersey City public pool, not some exclusive private gym or country club

I am not sure I would have recognized him, had the young person not mentioned his name. I introduced myself, said I was a volunteer for BikeJC and urged the mayor to implement bike facilities. Fulop was very personable and approachable. He responded that he’s a bicyclist (an iron man triathlete), and that he was happy that Jersey City had recently passed a funding ordinance to pay for the new bike facilities. I let him know that I had been there, testifying in favor.

After the swim we spoke a bit more. I asked him if it would be ok to take a photograph of him; one of the pool workers took the above picture. We shook hands and I let him know that I’m grateful that he’s planning to implement bike facilities..

Posted in: bike lane, bike_route